Wisdom Wednesday - Mastering 'like': Infinite or Gerund?

The Bull and the Bard: Every Monday, Wednesday and Friday

Hi there,

Welcome to Wisdom Wednesday. In today’s newsletter, I want to discuss a very common English word that will be familiar to all of you: ‘like’.

Mastering "Like": Using Infinitives and Gerunds Effectively

Have you ever wondered when to use "like + infinitive" or "like + gerund" (the -ing form)?

Using "Like" for Actions You Don't Actually Enjoy

Believe it or not, you can use "like" even for activities you don't necessarily find pleasurable. The key lies in emphasizing the benefits rather than the action itself.

Consider this example:

  • "I like to pay my credit card statement on the 5th of every month." 

Here, "like" highlights the positive outcome of a routine action (in this case the benefit of staying organised and avoiding late payment fees). With the gerund, you can express the lack of enjoyment:

  • "I don't like paying my credit card statement, but I appreciate the peace of mind knowing it's done on time."

When Does the Choice Matter?

While both "like + infinitive" and "like + gerund" can often convey the same meaning, there can be a subtle difference in emphasis, especially in British English.

While “I like to run on the beach every morning” and “I like running on the beach every morning” have a similar meaning, the first sentence emphasises the benefits and the second sentence emphasises the enjoyment of the activity.

  • "Like + infinitive" often emphasises the habit or routine of the action and any associated benefits. It can be used even if you do not enjoy the activity (like going to the dentist).

  • "Like + gerund" tends to focus more on enjoying the activity itself.

Let’s look at another example:

"I like to write reports in the morning." (This emphasizes the routine and potential benefit of increased focus in the morning. The reader does not necessarily know if the person actually likes to write the reports)

"I like writing reports." (This emphasizes the enjoyment of the activity itself.)

British versus American English

In American English, "like + gerund" is generally more common. However, both constructions are perfectly understandable in all English dialects.

By mastering these nuances, you can express your preferences and routines with greater clarity and precision in your business communication.

Words of the Day - Whit or With?

Writing ‘whit’ instead of with is a very common spelling mistake for English language learners. I wanted to draw your attention to the fact that both words exist but one is very uncommon.

‘Whit’ - noun - not any amount.

‘He hasn’t changed a whit’ means that he has not changed at all. ‘Whit’ is not a commonly used word.

You all know the preposition ‘with’ but please spell it correctly.

“I’m going on holiday with my family”

Do you have any Business English questions?

Please email me and I will do my best to answer them in future newsletters.

Until Friday - have a great day!

Iain.

p.s. Do you know anyone who might like to join this mailing list? Please forward them this newsletter and they can join here: